Pumpkin Everywhere, Everything

Standard

Fall is always an exciting time for me in more ways than one. If I was up to me, football would be a year round sport and every time the Gators play it would be a national holiday (not the I don’t treat it as such anyways). On top of that, all of my favorite holidays are right around the corner which allow me to spend time with family and friends while eating/drinking non-stop not worrying about having to be bikini ready. I take full advantage of this and unfortunately spraining my ankle has only slowed down my working out not my eating habits…thank goodness for being able to layer in the fall, because I have a problem. Not a problem, an obsession that cannot be controlled and that is with everything pumpkin. Pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, pumpkin pudding, pumpkin coffee, pumpkin oatmeal, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin. I sound like Bubba from Forrest Gump when talking about pumpkin. It has been days since I have not had something pumpkin and I don’t see an end in sight until Thanksgiving is over with and I move on to focusing on Christmas food obsessions. That, or until I physically turn into a pumpkin or OD from too much pumpkin.

While trying to satisfy my love of pumpkin, I have tried to get creative with pumpkin and stay somewhat healthy. After all, I still do live in Florida and it will always be bikini season no matter how many boots I buy trying to convience myself otherwise. I googled and foodgawked until I found a recipe for Fat-free Pumpkin Pudding on BigOven.com. It is so easy to make which is great for me who until last week would go to the gym after work (boo sprained ankle!) and had no extra time on the week days. My only critique would be that the recipe needed more cinnamon, so I have edited to my liking. Cinnamon is a runner-up in my book for all-time favorite spices so depending on your preferences just add enough until you are happy with the flavor.

Fat-free Pumpkin Pudding

Ingredients:
1 pk Fat free vanilla pudding
2 c Skim milk
1 c Pumpkin puree
1/4 tsp Pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp Nutmeg
2 tsp Cinnamon
*Fat free cool whip topping (topping the pudding with cool whip straight from the freezer is a nice way to get a cool treat)
*Crumbled graham crackers
*optional

Directions:Prepare the pudding per direction (whisk pudding mix with 2 cups cold milk until set) and add the spices and pumpkin, whisk  together. Spoon into 4 dessert dishes. Garnish with toppings.

Leave a comment