Food, Football, and Glory

Standard
First of all I would like to say congrats to the Florida Gators for breaking the banjo over the Tennessee Volunteers’ heads on Saturday by winning 33-23. I had such a great time with my family and friend in Gainesville for the football game and the silencing of “Rocky Top” was music to my ears. The night ended at Krystals for me, which if you are from Ortega you know always is the stamp of approval for a night out on the town.
Overall, this was a very successful weekend for me which started off with making a steaming bowl of Chicken Fajita Chili. With the cooling temperatures (mid-70s burrrr!) and the promise of fall in the air, I have been craving homemade soup and decided to indulge myself. I searched the net looking for a recipe to use and didn’t find one that fulfilled my few requirements: 1) it had to be spicy, 2) it had to be loaded with veggies (no, I do not consider 3 types of beans veggie approved), and 3) is had to be cheap to make (my roommates are still my parents people!). Only one type of food came to mind when thinking about spicy and cheap….
I bet you can’t guess it….
Mexican!

(I just want to note that I realize Mexican didn’t fulfill one of my requirements (VEGGIE LOADED or HEALTHY, but that didn’t mean I couldn’t make it work.)
With Mexican on my mind I decided that Chicken Fajita Chili was exactly what my stomach was rumbling for. During my lunch break from work I went to Publix and grabbed all the ingredients that I needed. The best part about soup is that you can add and subtract based on personal preferences and since my parents left me and the dogs all by our lonesomes for the weekend, I put in the soup exactly what I wanted. I must note though, that getting a rotisserie chicken is on the expensive side for all the coupon lovers out there, but when in a time crunch it does the trick. On the flip side, when dealing with mostly frozen or canned items I was saving some doe. It’s a great tip to stock up on the canned items to have on hand if you want to bulk up the chili or make it spur of the moment.
I basically threw all of the ingredients in a pot, brought it to a boil, and then let it simmer for 1 ½ hrs. It was that simple for a gigantic pot of soup that could have feed an army or at least a unit. I may be biased, but I think that it was some of the best chili I’ve had in a long time, especially with the extra cheese and hot sauce I sprinkled on top, because who can deny more spice and cheese? Not wanting the chili to go to waste, I froze some of it and then lived off it for the rest of the weekend. You know that it was good when after 3 meals of chili I still wanted some more, but opted to eat it as a dip with Tostitos Scoops- let the chili simmer longer and you can make a great dip!
My one regret is not having a marg with it….CHEERS
The recipe to my Chicken Fajita Chili is below, but I must warn you that chili is a taste as you go affair. Don’t be afraid to add more water if the sauce is too thick or more spices if it’s too bland. Chili is one of the most forgiving meals you can make so just avoid burning it, taste as you go, and you will be fine.

Chicken Fajita Chili
Ingredients:
3 cups shredded or chopped smoked chicken (about 1 lb.)
1 onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 (15-oz.) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 cup spinach, cooked and drained
2 (4-ounce) cans diced green chiles
1 (10-ounce) can diced tomatoes and green chiles
1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
2 cups frozen whole kernel corn, thawed
1 (14.5-oz.) can low-sodium fat-free chicken broth
1 can red enchilada sauce
2 cups hot water
2 teaspoons hot sauce
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground cumin
3 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground red pepper
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 package of chili seasoning
Garnish (optional): Tortilla chips, cheddar cheese, sour cream
Directions:
Shred the chicken, chop the onion, and mince the garlic. Put the onion and the garlic in a large pot (or crock pot) with the chicken broth over medium heat. Add the remaining ingredients and bring the pot to a boil. Reduce heat and allow pot to simmer for 1-1 ½ hrs. Stir occasionally. Garnish with toppings.
View Recipe on Tasty Kitchen’s Website!

Leave a comment